Are you in search of Universities in Edo State? Do you wish to know both the Public and Private Universities in Edo State? If yes, this article is for you as we list out the universities in Edo state you can study. Also, the general requirements for any of the Universities in Edo State. Keep reading!

Universities in Edo State

There are many excellent universities in Nigeria, but if you’ve attended a higher education institution in Edo State, you’ll need the Complete List of Universities in Edo state.

For states with some of the greatest higher education institutions, they should consider Edo state, since it has generated many university graduates who contribute to the country more than other states.


List of Universities in Edo State

The following is a complete list of universities in Edo State. Edo state is home to eight institutions. One is a federal university, two state universities, and five private universities.

These are some of the greatest universities in the country. They are:

Federal University

Below is the Federal university in Edo State:

1. University of Benin

The University of Benin (UNIBEN) is a public research university in the Nigerian city of Benin in the state of Edo.

They created it in 1970. It is one institution controlled by the Federal Government of Nigeria. The School now has two campuses with fifteen faculties.

Also, the John Harris Library. However, this serves as the primary library. UNIBEN’s buildings are sporadically constructed and not near one another.

UNIBEN has a teaching hospital, the University of Benin Teaching Hospital (UBTH), which is a large hospital with all disciplines and medical professions.

It also offers many units such as SERVICOM, Medical Records, Nurses and Doctors’ House, laundry services, catering, and many more.

To apply, CLICK HERE

State Universities

Below is the list of State universities in Edo State:

1. Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma

Ambrose Alli University (AAU) is a government-owned university in Nigeria’s Edo State. It was founded in 1981 by Ambrose Folorunsho Alli, the governor of Bendel State (now Edo and Delta State).

The National Universities Commission approved and recognized AAU. However, it was formerly known as Bendel State University, then Edo State University.

However, ultimately renamed to its current name in honor of professor Ambrose Folorunsho Alli (NUC).

The Ambrose Alli University Library holds the institution’s information resources.

To apply, CLICK HERE

2. Edo State University Uzairue

Edo State University, Uzairue (EDSU) is a state-owned postsecondary school that was established in 2016. It is situated in Iyamho, a town in Edo State’s Etsako West local government area.

The National Universities Commission recognised the institution as Nigeria’s 41st state university on March 23, 2016. Edo State University offers undergraduate, graduate, and doctoral degrees, as well as research opportunities.

To apply, CLICK HERE

Private Universities

Below is the list of private universities in Edo state:

1. Benson Idahosa University, Benin City

In Benin City, Edo State, Nigeria, Benson Idahosa University (BIU) is a private Christian university. Archbishop Benson Idahosa, a Charismatic, Pentecostal pastor from Benin City, Nigeria.

It was honored with the renaming of BIU (formerly known as Christian Faith University), which represents his evangelical convictions.

He was the university’s first president. Rt. Rev. (Dr.) Faith, the current president of Benson Idahosa University, Emmanuel Benson Idahosa, the son of Benson Idahosa, is the Bishop of CGMi Faith Arena.

Also, the Church of God Mission’s Next Generation Leadership Co-ordinator.

To apply, CLICK HERE

2. Igbinedion University Okada

Igbinedion University, Okada (IUO) is a Nigerian private university that was created in 1999. The university is located in Okada, Edo state, in the capital of the Ovia North-East Local Government Area.

Sir Gabriel Osawaru Igbinedion CFR, a businessman, philanthropist, and notable Benin Chief, founded the university.

The National Universities Commission (NUC) and related professional organizations have accredited the University’s graduate and undergraduate programs.

To apply, CLICK HERE

3. Samuel Adegboyega University, Ogwa.

Samuel Adegboyega University (SAU) is a Nigerian university in Ogwa, Edo State. The Apostolic Church Nigeria, LAWNA (Lagos, Western and Northern Areas) Territory, with headquarters in Olorunda-Ketu, Lagos, established it.

The university is named after Pastor Samuel Gbadebo Adegboyega, the first Nigerian Superintendent of the Church.

On Monday, March 7, 2011, the Federal Government of Nigeria granted the college its license, making it the 45th private university and the 117th overall in the Nigerian university system. In 2011/2012, the university began its first academic session.

To apply, CLICK HERE

4. Wellspring University, Evbuobanosa – Edo State

Wellspring University is a private university that was granted a license by the Nigerian government in November 2009.

It’s in the Nigerian city of Benin, in the state of Edo. The Management Science Centre, a Professional Training and Educational Consulting Firm formed in 1983 launched the university.

The institution was founded on solid Christian ideas and values in order to provide a well-rounded education that would allow students to gain useful academic knowledge and practical life skills while maintaining healthy morality.

They presently offered undergraduate programs through the university’s four colleges, while they offer postgraduate programs through the university’s postgraduate school.

To apply, CLICK HERE

5. Mudiame University, Irrua, Edo State

Professor Sunny Eromosele Eboh, CEO of Mudiame International Limited and Mudiame Welding Institute, created the university.

The Federal Executive Council awarded Mudiame University a license to begin academic programs in 2021.

To apply, CLICK HERE


Requirements of Admission

There are two primary prerequisites for admission to all Edo State institutions, regardless of whether they are private or public.

1. As it is relevant to your course of study, you must have acquired a minimum of 5 credit passes.

2. To be qualified to participate in their post-UTME screening exercise, you must achieve the minimum needed cut-off point.

If you meet the above criteria, you will immediately be considered eligible to apply for admission. As previously stated, the Joint Admissions and Matriculations Board have accepted this as the universal prerequisite for admission into all private, state, and federal colleges in Edo State (JAMB).

Checkout out other unique articles on our blog for more detailed information and do well to share with your friends and family. Follow us on our Twitter and Facebook to stay updated with premium information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *